Form Autosave is a useful Safari extension designed to automatically save the contents of web form as you fill it out. If something goes wrong before you can submit a form, or if you need to resubmit a form, you can autofill it with the last saved values using a context menu command.
You don’t need to do anything special to save form contents: saving is automatically enabled. To repopulate a form with its last saved contents, right-click anywhere on the form and select Repopulate Form in the context menu.
If you want to delete the saved contents for a particular form, right-click the form and select Forget Form Contents in the context menu. To delete the saved contents for all forms, use the control in the Form Autosave area of Safari’s extension manager.
The extension will not save the contents of password fields and fields that are tagged as autocomplete-disabled. It also won’t save any field whose contents consist only of 15 or 16 numerical digits, which usually indicates a credit card number. Finally, it won’t save the contents of any form that has fewer than three non-password fields; this means most login forms are excluded.
The extension only keeps the most recent contents of any field. If you change the contents of a field, the old contents are forgotten.
The contents of a form field are saved as soon as you exit the field. (Exiting a field is usually accomplished by pressing the Tab key or clicking outside the field.
Also, pressing Enter to submit a form will exit the field you are in.) If you do not exit a field, its contents will not be saved. Thus, if some event causes the form to be closed while a field is still active, the contents of that field will not be saved.
Form contents are stored in this file location: ~/Library/Safari/LocalStorage/safari-extension_com.canisbos.formsaver-zanvztser6_0.localstorage. Since the data is stored in clear text, it is only as secure as the contents of your home folder.
If you share your OS X user account with other users, you may not want to install this extension, as those other users will be able to easily view your saved form contents. (Passwords are not saved.)
Form contents will be deleted if you use Safari’s “Remove All Website Data” command, either from the Privacy tab of Safari preferences or from the Reset Safari dialog box.
If you don’t want that to happen, make a backup of the file described above before you remove all website data. Then, after using the command, quit Safari and restore the file from the backup.
What's New in This Release: [ read full changelog ]
· Added an icon.